Five Iowa Schools Named 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools: Cedar Falls’ Lincoln Elementary among them

The Iowa Department of Education has announced that five Iowa public schools have been identified by the U.S. Department of Education as 2010 No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools.
The Iowa schools are:

  • Bedford Elementary School, Bedford Community School District, Taylor County
  • Kee High School, Eastern Allamakee Community School District, Allamakee County
  • Lincoln Elementary School, Cedar Falls Community School District, Blackhawk County
  • McKinley Elementary School, Muscatine Community School District, Muscatine County
  • West Elementary, Knoxville Community School District, Marion County

The award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement especially among disadvantaged and minority students.  Each year since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education has sought out schools where students attain and maintain high academic goals, including those that beat the odds. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private schools based on one of two criteria:  1) Schools whose students, regardless of backgrounds, are high performing.  These are schools ranked among the state’s highest performing schools as measured by their performance on state assessments or in the case of private schools, that score at the highest performance level on tests referenced by national norms in at least the most recent year tested; and 2) Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that improve student performance to high levels as measured by the school’s performance on state assessments or nationally-normed tests.

The public schools were nominated by the Iowa Department of Education based on 2008-2009 achievement data.

A total of 304 schools across the country were named 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools. A complete list of 2010 No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools is available at

September 9, 2010
Contact: Elaine Watkins-Miller: 515-281-5651, // <![CDATA[
var prefix = 'mailto:';
var suffix = '';
var attribs = '';
var path = 'hr' + 'ef' + '=';
var addy91165 = 'elaine.watkins-miller' + '@';
addy91165 = addy91165 + 'iowa' + '.' + 'gov';
document.write( '‘ );
document.write( addy91165 );
document.write( ” );
// ]]> //

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.