Local school administrators honored for achievements

Two area administrators have been recognized for outstanding contributions to education by the School Administrators of Iowa (SAI).  Mike Swartzendruber, principal of Rock Run Elementary in Iowa Falls, has been named the 2012 Iowa Elementary Principal of the Year.  David Welter, principal of Holmes Junior High in Cedar Falls, has been awarded the 2012 Iowa Middle Level Principal of the Year.

These prestigious awards are given to school principals who have shown a strong commitment to leadership as well as making outstanding contributions to the educational community.  Mr. Swartzendruber has served Rock Run for the past nine years and was previously principal in Eagle Grove. Mr. Welter served as associate principal at Peet Junior High before coming to Holmes in 2000.

School Administrators of Iowa is a statewide organization representing more than 2,000 Iowa educational administrators.  Founded in 1987, SAI’s mission is to support and develop Iowa’s educational leaders and learners.  SAI will honor these exceptional leaders at an awards ceremony at the State Capitol on May 9.

Congratulations, Mike and David!

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.