AEA 267 announces Paraeducator of the Year award winners

Congratulations to the following individuals who have been nominated and named 2012 “Paraeducator of the Year” by Area Education Agency.

Elvia Hernandez (CAL Community School District)

Elvia Hernandez serves as a paraeducator in the CAL Community School District. She is described as a kind and compassionate person who has a natural ability to work with students. Her colleagues describe her as a loyal, honest, and hard working professional.  Also important to note are Elvia’s contributions to the CAL school system as a Spanish interpreter.

Elvia not only makes a positive impact on students, but also on  families. She helps them to understand the culture, events, and expectation of the school. In addition, Elvia works with teachers and school staff to help them understand the needs of our Spanish speaking students and families. Elvia displays a very positive image for all paraeducators!

Shannon Fiser (Grinnell-Newberg Community School District-Fairview Elementary)

Shannon Fiser is described as a dependable, reliable, and knowledgeable professional.  Shannon currently works as a one-on-one paraeducator in the Grinnell-Newberg School District.  Shannon’s colleagues at Fairview Elementary speak highly of her talents and giving spirit.

“Her experience would be valuable to any school district in AEA 267.  She is one of the hardest workers I know and I’m proud she’s in our school district” writes Special Education teacher Diane Volkman.  Shannon is currently pursuing her teaching degree and aspires to be a special education teacher one day.

Tonya Hernandez (Marshalltown Community School District)

Tonya is described as one of the best paraeducators in the Marshalltown School District.  She is sought out by former students and has an innate ability to positively relate to everyone she works with.  Tonya Hernandez serves as a paraeducator and bilingual tutor, while also pursuing her teaching degree.  Her goal of one day becoming an English Language Learning (ELL) teacher will soon be a reality.  The commitment and dedication she shows is highly valued and allows her to help students achieve at high levels.

As colleagues Kelley Dickey and Jessica Cakrasenjaya stated, “Tonya is absolutely wonderful with all of our students.  She always goes above and beyond to help students in and out of the classroom.  She makes all the students with whom she works feel comfortable and capable.”

Other Paraeducators nominated by their schools include:

  • Bonnie Anderson, Waverly-Shell Rock Middle School
  • Mary Borton, Marshalltown High School
  • Deena Chedester, Marshalltown High School
  • Chris Davis, North Iowa
  • Jeri Ellenbecker, South Tama High School
  • Robert Griffin, Marshalltown High School
  • Kelly Hansen, AEA 267 Castle Hill
  • Patty Kouns, AEA 267, Castle Hill
  • Lisa Kraus, Garner-Hayfield, High School
  • Linda Kromminga, Eldora/Hubbard-Radcliffe Elementaries
  • Loretta Kvapil, AEA 267, Tama office
  • Greg Lacey, Marshalltown High School
  • Janie Laipple, Cedar Falls, Holmes, High School
  • Mike Little, EMA/TriCounty Head Start
  • Diane Limkemann – Cedar Falls Holmes, Junior High
  • Esma Lulic, Waterloo West High School
  • Tyler Menken, Hampton-Dumont Elementary
  • Beth Parker, Waverly-Shell Rock HS
  • Tracey Pearson, Hubbard-Radcliffe Elementary
  • Julie Purvis, Eldora New Providence
  • Natasa Sarkic, Waterloo West High School
  • Marilyn Schult, Tripoli Elementary
  • Cheryl Sonberg, Charles City High School
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.