Ten area teachers earn award for outstanding teaching

The Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching has been awarded to 10 area educators. The following teachers were chosen out of more than 1700 nominations:

  • Laura Angove, talented and gifted and art,  Hudson Community School
  • June Bahnsen, Spanish,  Waterloo East High School
  • Shelly Bromwich, preschool,  Malcolm Price Lab School, Cedar Falls
  • Cheri Grell, social studies,  Hoover Middle School, Waterloo
  • Kay Konrardy, health/physical education,  Blessed Sacrament Catholic School, Waterloo
  • Carmen Nimmo, English,  Bunger Middle School, Waterloo
  • Shelley Schlatter, kindergarten,  Southdale Elementary School, Cedar Falls 
  • Mike Schmidt, mathematics, Union Middle School, Dysart
  • Kenton Swartley, physics, Cedar Falls High School
  • Kim Vandendreissche, kindergarten, St. Patrick Catholic School, Cedar Falls.

This teacher recognition program is for educators in Black Hawk County and honors it’s recipients with an awards ceremony and a $1000 prize.  More than 350 teachers have been recognized for their excellence in teaching since the program was founded in 1989.

Congratulations to each of these outstanding and inspiring teachers! 

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.