Local school counselors receive awards

Two local school counselors were honored at the annual Iowa School Counselor Association (ISCA) conference held recently in Des Moines.

Teresa O’Meara, school counselor at North Tama Elementary School was named the 2012 Iowa Elementary School Counselor of the Year.  O’Meara was recognized for the elementary counseling program she developed including her internationally recognized school conflict management program.  She is a member of the National Board of Certified Counselors and works as an adjunct professor at UNI training future counselors.  Her nominator, school counselor Kathie Barry, summed up O’Meara’s work by saying,  “As Gandhi said, ‘Be the change you want to see in the world.’  I have known Teresa O’Meara for 15 years and she lives this every day of her life in every part of her life.  But it is most visible in her work as an elementary school counselor.”

Rona Messmore, school counselor at Cedar Falls’ Holmes Junior High was awarded the John L. Thompson Award for Excellence in School Counseling for 2012.  This $600 grant and award recognized Messmore for the manner in which she implemented the Holmes Junior High Mentoring Program, which matches middle school students with mentors from the UNI Teacher Education Program.  The John L. Thompson award is a tribute to the vision of John L. Thompson as Director of Guidance and Counseling and Students at Risk at Heartland AEA.

Congratulations to both Teresa and Rona on receiving these well deserved honors!

Teresa O’Meara

Rona Messmore


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.